Lunar Eclipse

Lunar EclipseThere was a lunar eclipse a week ago, and I actually got to see it. I live in Ohio and when I am aware that there will be an eclipse, it seems that the sky is cloudy. Usually, I am just not aware that it is happening, but blaming it on the weather is fun.

We got up early in the morning – 4:30 or so, and watched it for an hour and a half. It was spectacular!

I don’t know if this is related, but the night before, my family was at Hinckley Reservation. Right when the sun went down, the moon was rising over the opposite side of the lake. Between the lighting of the setting sun, the crystal clear sky, and the reflection of the full moon on the lake, the moment was breathtaking.

I am almost too embarrassed to relate the rest of the story. I decided to go back the next day to see if I could get a photograph, but had forgotten to check to see what time the moonrise would occur. I figured that it couldn’t be all that different from day to day. I was wrong! It changed by a half hour and to make matters worse, I was not really sure what time moonrise was the night before anyway. It was starting to get very dark, so we began to make our way back up the trail to our car. It turned out that if I had waited another 10 minutes, the moon would have been up – but I still would have missed out on that magical lighting of the night before.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

One response to “Lunar Eclipse

Leave a Reply

