Wire Wrapping

Wire wrapped glass lampwork beadI have decided to expand my jewelry making skills! I love the look of chain maille and elegant wire wrapped pendants.

I recently signed up for an online class with SLC Uniques to learn more about wire wrapping. Her classes are in an interactive video streaming format. While this may not be as ideal as a true classroom format, it is an exciting approach to learning. It is certainly more affordable than traveling to a class, easier to fit into a busy schedule, and opens up a whole world of learning possibilities.

My class was yesterday, and the picture is the pendant that I made for the class – my very first framed cabochon.

The frame is sterling silver made from square and half round wire. This is the first time that I have used anything other than round wire. Why did I wait so long?

The cabochon itself is a glass lampworked freeform piece that I made just a few days ago. I am very excited to have a new way to make some finished jewelry from my lampwork beads and cabochons.

See more of my artisan lampwork beads on my website www.SpawnOfFlame.com.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

2 responses to “Wire Wrapping

Leave a Reply

