Lampwork Bracelet

Sterling Silver and Glass Lampwork Bracelet

Sterling Silver and Glass Lampwork Bracelet

A month or so ago, I took a soldering class with a fabulous local jewelry artist,  Melissa Muir, and made a way cool bracelet. We used a jeweler’s saw to cut our own sterling silver rings and then soldered the rings closed with a cute little butane torch.  I saved my pennies and recently bought the tools to make some of this kind of jewelry myself.

Here is my first piece on my own.  I wanted to use some of my own glass lampwork beads in it, so I soldered a couple of test rings and the beads seemed to be ok.  The design kind of just happened.  I have to give Melissa a lot of credit… in her class she went over a lot of the things that I needed to know, so I was never lost while going solo.

I am absolutely thrilled how it turned out!

Rosemarie Hanus makes glass lampwork beads and solders silver in her Northeast Ohio studio.  You can see even more of her beads in her Etsy store.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

2 responses to “Lampwork Bracelet

  • FormFire Glassworks

    I’ve been thinking of doing some similar work and was wondering if you had any problem soldering so close to the glass. Did you make your pieces bigger simply to accommodate that possibility? Typically you would heat the whole piece well to solder properly. Did you find the glass got in your way? I love this and am now inspired to proceed with a few of my ideas!

  • rosemarie h.

    The rings were pretty large as were the beads. The beads are at least 13 – 14 mm, where I usually make that kind of bead in the 11 mm range. In fact, that is why I used them, because I wasn’t in the mood to make a listing for the larger bead.

    Here is what I did. I made and soldered the rings first, then I soldered one side of the crossarm next. I bent the crossarm enough to slip the bead on.

    The tricky part was to set the ring so that the bead was back and away from the last solder joint. I heated the lower part of the ring and the crossarm and the solder did flow. The bead did get hot, but not hot enough to cause it to stress.

    I made matching earrings, well, I tried to anyway, the next day. I got so excited, that as soon as I soldered the last joint, I dropped it into the pickle. I knew better, and it was kind a slow motion “noooooo” as it was going in, because I knew that it would crack the bead. Which it did.

    I also tried another, smaller version, and I did crack the beads. I believe that the flame, even though it was quite small, touched the bead. As soon as that happened, the bead cracked in half.

Leave a Reply

