Walking the Dog – Chapter 4 – Sign of Unwelcome Plants

I compulsively read everything that I see. I can read fast, I can read upside down, and I can read mirror image. If there is something on your desk, you’d better put it away if I shouldn’t see it, because I’ll read it whether I want to or not. How could I possibly ignore all of the compelling signs along a trail? Especially if it about the ubiquitous Poison Ivy.

Poison Ivy

Poison Ivy

“Leaves of three, let it be”.  How many times have you heard that?   I guess that the “welcomeness” of this plant depends upon your point of view, so perhaps my title is unfair. I’ve read that it is a source of food for birds, so they must welcome it. Many people however, develop contact dermatitis reaction to the oils – you know, a nasty rash. I don’t (yet), but everyone else in my family does.

This plant is rampant around the Hinckley Reservation, including one picnic area with an island of gorgeous ground cover that on closer observation, appears to be Poison Ivy. Maybe it is not and is some similar plant, but I pay careful attention to not let the dog brush against it and transfer the oils to us.

Are you getting itchy just thinking about it?  I am, and like I said, I’ve never had so much as one blister (yet) from it.

When I am not hiking or scratching, I make beads. Check them out at Etsy or my Spawn of Flame website.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

Leave a Reply

