Walking the Dog – Chapter 5 – the Boathouse

On this particular hike, we walked the dog completely around Hinckley Lake, as I said before, it is about a 3.5 mile trail. Near the southern part of the lake is an area that we don’t usually walk past – the boathouse. This is not because I have a problem with the boathouse, but because it is usually quite busy in the summer season. This doesn’t really make sense, since I don’t mind walking around the spillway when it is busy.

Boathouse at Hinckley Lake

Boathouse at Hinckley Lake

From the Cleveland Metroparks website:

The Hinckley Lake boathouse is open from April until mid-October. The boathouse features boat rentals, fishing tackle, bait and snacks.

Snacks? Yum! All summer long, my daughter had been asking about renting a canoe and spending some time on the lake instead of just looking at the lake. I thought that this was a good idea, but we just never got to it. On this day, we checked to see if they were open (having not read the website first), but alas it is past mid-October, isn’t it? I am wistful about our non-boating expedition.

I wonder if they rent those doggy life jackets too? I’ve seen them for sale. If I were to wager on it, I bet that they don’t allow pets to accompany us novice boaters.

When I am not not-boating, I make beads. Check them out at Etsy or my Spawn of Flame website.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

Leave a Reply

