I Survived the Rotavirus

I picked up what was apparently the Rotavirus that seems to be making the rounds this year, and I believe that I have survived.  I don’t know how I got it, because I could almost characterize myself as anal about hand washing (sorry, could not resist).

I am not used to being sick, but when I get sick, it is with a respiratory illness.  I therefore have little experience with the Rotavirus. – which affects the digestive system.  (Oh, what an understatement that is) Here are some things that I have learned:

  • Imodium actually works.  Use it sooner rather than later – like before the third day.
  • The term “chaps my behind” or any equivalent, is no longer funny to me.
  • When recovery is imminent, do not let anyone convince you that a bean burrito (because it is soft) is a good thing to eat.  You do not, repeat, do NOT want to add bubbles to the mix.
  • While replenishing your electrolytes may be a good goal, do not use a sports drink with sucrolose.  Sucrolose seems to have a laxative effect – at least on me.  Need I say more?

I hope that this is somewhat humorous, at least that was my intent. If you should be so horribly unfortunate that you contract this malaise… maybe my experience could be of assistance. Especially the Imodium part. Seriously.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

3 responses to “I Survived the Rotavirus

  • Angie Garren

    I’m glad you’ve survived with your humor intact 🙂 Thanks for sharing what worked for you, too. I always forget stuff like that when I’m in the middle of being sick, so another reminder is always welcome. Hope your 2009 is healthy!

  • Deb Batten

    Rose – how awful for you! Fortunately, like you, I manage to avoid all those icky bugs & ‘normally’, colds too. So when I do get something I just don’t do ‘sick’ well at all.

    I did find your post humorous, perhaps it’s that Kiwi sense of humour that appreciates the dry one liners. We have a habit of speaking with tongue very firmly implanted in cheek ;o)

    Wishing you a Happy & Healthy 2009!

  • Melissa

    Sounds nasty! I’m glad you’re on the mend!

Leave a Reply

