Finding Your Voice Workshop – Week 2 Inspired by a Painting

For our assignment during week 2 of the workshop, we each were to chose a painting and then make a bead based on that painting.  Also, the painting was supposed to be something that was very much different from our usual style.

The painting that I chose had little geometric shapes of gray and white at the base and swirls of white in the sky.  There was a graceful tree in black and blue a little off center to the right.

I started out with a blue tab base and then began to add the geometric shapes on the base.  I quickly ran out of room, so I only made one shape!  There are swirls on the top, but they blend in.  I think that they add to the overall effect, but you really don’t “see” them.

When I put the tree on, instead of being graceful, it looks more ominous – sort of a cute, spooky tree.  I like it though… and the geometric shape turned into a pear – quite by accident.

Workshop Tree Bead

Workshop Tree Bead

This also was an interesting exercise in stepping beyond what I normally do.

Rosemarie Hanus makes many beads in her home studio. Look at some more of these beads at EtsyArt Fire, or my Spawn of Flame website.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

4 responses to “Finding Your Voice Workshop – Week 2 Inspired by a Painting

  • angie

    Cool description of the painting you chose, and I love your interpretation. The way the curves of the branches almost turn into swirls themselves is beautiful!

  • Anna

    Mm, I like the idea of ‘stepping beyond what you normally do’ – I’m making a mental note of that for the coming days – or make that the coming year.

    I really like the tree shape you ended up with – both the contrast of the deep blue/black and pale blue, and the tilt and curls of the branches. Really nice negative space too, the shapes formed within (and without) the branches.

  • Sandra

    While I like your bead from the more recent Week 3, this is my favourite out of the beads you’ve made…

    Reminds me of something like a tree of life… but sometimes my gaze shifts and it looks more like an octopus.

    I try to put that latter thought out of mind as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

