Tutorial – Packing the Beads

One of the things that I agonized over when I first began to ship beads was how to pack them.  I worried that they would break, but I did not want excessive packaging either.  I have shipped several hundred packages now, and for those just getting started, I thought that I would share what I do.

A little disclaimer, I am shipping mostly sets of smaller beads – earring sets or bracelet size sets (up to 15mm).  I have also shipped solid larger beads this way (up to 2 inches (50 mm) in diameter, and some 3 inches (75 mm) in length).  I would not use this packing method on more delicate or sculptural beads.

First, I put each set of beads into a little zip bag.  This is to keep the beads from going all over the place when they are unwrapped; who wants their customers crawling under a table to round up your beads?  Not me!   Next, I arrange the beads in a line near the bottom of the corner of a 6 inch x 6 inch (15 cm square) piece of bubble wrap.  I reuse bubble wrap whenever I can – I just cut the pieces from wrap that I have received.

Beads on Bubble Wrap

Beads on Bubble Wrap

I roll the wrap, starting from the corner to about halfway.  I try and make the wrap pretty tight around the beads – that way they don’t shift around while they are traveling through the mail.  This is actually the trickiest part (getting the wrap nice and tight).

Rolling Bubble Wrap

Rolling Bubble Wrap

I then fold the ends in.

Folding the Bubble Wrap

Folding the Bubble Wrap

I continue to roll the wrap into a tubular roll-up.  I do not tape it at this point.

Bubble Wrap Roll-Up

Bubble Wrap Roll-Up

I then put the roll-up onto a square sheet of tissue paper.  I make sure that the pretty printed side is down so that it is on the outside, because I am compulsive about things.

Tissue - Ready to Roll

Tissue - Ready to Roll

I roll the tissue and fold the edges just like the bubble wrap.

Tissue - Folded and Almost Done

Tissue - Folded and Almost Done

Once the wrap is done, I put a tiny bit of clear tape to hold the tube closed.

A Tube of Beads

A Tube of Beads

This is now ready to go into a bubble wrap envelope.  I also include an invoice with a written message and a business card.

Packing Ready to Go

Packing Ready to Go

Of course this only takes a few seconds.  I hope that this helps someone who may be paralyzed at the thought of shipping beads for the first time. This is the conclusion of this exciting tutorial.  Perhaps I will write a sequel soon on how I make and attach labels to the envelope.

UPDATE! Related tutorials:

Rosemarie Hanus makes beads (that she uses to ship) in her home studio. Look at some more of these beads at EtsyArt Fire, or my Spawn of Flame website.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

3 responses to “Tutorial – Packing the Beads

Leave a Reply

