Finding Your Voice Workshop – Week 5 – From a Song

Hungry Eyes – here’s lookin’ at you!  The assignment for this week of the workshop (Finding Your Voice –Sylvie Lansdowne on Facebook) was to choose any song and make a bead the was inspired by this song.  I had a difficult time choosing a song!

In the end, I chose “Hungry Eyes” sung by Eric Carmen; it was in the movie Dirty Dancing.  This song is neither my favorite, nor does it have any special meaning to me.  However, when I was explaining the assignment to my husband in Steak ‘n Shake, this song started plaing on their XM radio.  Hmm, I had a comment about my prior bead that it looked almost like eyes.  There it was; I had a song. As a total aside, I discovered that this song was recorded in Beachwood, Ohio – not too terribly far from where I live!

Glass Lampwork Bead - Hungry Eyes

Glass Lampwork Bead - Hungry Eyes

I can see where I can make improvements to this bead, but the rules of the workshop are quite explicit – make one bead, and that is the one to post.  You can make more, but the first one is the workshop bead.

Now that I made the bead, it brought back a memory.  When I was young, there was a drive in restaurant called the Hungry I in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio.  I loved going there!  They had a signature burger – the “I”.  It was a lot like a Big Mac, but it predated that sandwich by at least a decade, and was much juicier.  It was delivered hot and juicy to your car in a paper wrapper with an olive on a toothpick skewered into the burger.  Maybe I can start a “Tribute to the Hungry I” series.

Interested?  Read more in this series about the Finding Your Voice Workshop.

Rosemarie Hanus makes beads in her home studio. Look at some more of these beads at EtsyArt Fire, or my Spawn of Flame website.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

4 responses to “Finding Your Voice Workshop – Week 5 – From a Song

Leave a Reply

