Tutorial – Shipping Labels

As an exciting sequel to my Packing the Beads tutorial, I have decided to share how I produce shipping labels.  Please don’t laugh!  This was another step that almost had me afraid to sell online.

Of course, the simplest way is to hand write the address information directly onto the envelope.  This method has the drawbacks of taking quite a bit of time and requiring legible handwriting (or printing).  It is also not recommended for those (like me) that tend to transpose letters and numbers!  Be sure to use a permanent marker or pen – I have used the Sharpie Ultra Fine Point Permanent Marker with success.

Now, I print both of my domestic (in the US) and international label, but I use a different method for each of them.  For the domestic labels, I use Paypal and for international, I use the USPS Shipping Assistant®, provided by the United States Postal Service.

I like to use Paypal since many of my customers use it for the payment method.  It is quite easy to click on the “Print Shipping Label” button next to the transaction.  I can ship to anybody this way;  although impossible to find on the Paypal site,  here is a direct link to make a label.  For domestic shipping, the shipping can be First Class or Priority mail.  I almost always ship First Class with Delivery Confirmation which is only $0.18 – less expensive than buying it at the Post Office.  The weight cannot be more than 13 ounces.  If it is over 13 ounces, I splurge for Priority Mail.

The information that you need to enter is: the name and address where the package is going, the service type (I use First Class), the package size (I use Package/Thick Envelope), and the weight.  The weight cannot be more than 13 ounces.  If it is over 13 ounces, I splurge for Priority Mail.

I print the label on my laser printer onto regular computer paper.  The printout is the label on one half of the paper and a receipt on the other half.  The size of  the label is such that it fits easily on size 00 Bubble Mailers.

Cutting the Shipping Label

Cutting the Shipping Label

To attach the label, first I cut it out.  The quickest cutting method for me is to use my sewing rotary cutter on a cutting mat.  Then I put a little glue on the back of the label, place it on the envelope, and then tape the edges all the way around.  I like the thin width clear tape – not that I am picky.  Wait, I am picky… lol!  Just be sure not to tape over the barcodes!

I would also totally recommend using your non-cutting hand to hold the paper.  I was using that hand to take the picture… lol!

Next time, I will conclude this riveting tutorial by sharing how I make labels for international packages.

UPDATE! Related tutorials:

Rosemarie Hanus makes beads (that she prints shipping labels for) in her home studio. Look at some of these beads at EtsyArt Fire, or my Spawn of Flame website.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

4 responses to “Tutorial – Shipping Labels

Leave a Reply

