Growling at the Leopard

While the actual install of the OS 10.5 or OSX Leopard went without a hitch, I am now having problems with some of my applications.  Unfortunately, they are two of the applications that I really use the most – Adobe’s Photoshop and Parallels Desktop.

I use Photoshop to edit (color balance and crop) my photos for my bead business.  It will not even start – I get this error: “An unexpected and unrecoverable problem has occurred because of a program error.  Photoshop will now exit”.  I am using an older version of Photoshop (7.0),  I wonder if this is a problem.  I have not researched this yet, so  hopefully it is something simple.

I use Parallels to run Intuit’s Windows version of Quicken.  When I first got my Mac, I bought the Mac version, but there were many features missing that I had used, so I went back to using the Windows version.  Parallels and Quicken run, but the colors for the whole Windows desktop are all wrong and the screen does not clear.  It looks as though I have the wrong screen settings, but I don’t know what the right ones could possibly be.  And when I say that the colors are wrong, I don’t mean that it is a little unattractive – it is totally unusable.  Very psychodelic.  Very not good.

So, now I can’t fix the pictures that I need for the bead business and I don’t know when to pay the bills or how much money I have left.   That went well.  not.

Update: It seems as though older versions of Photoshop are not supported on Leopard.  From Adobe’s website:   versions Photoshop CS2 and older are “Likely to encounter issues for which there is no resolution.” Bummer.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

2 responses to “Growling at the Leopard

Leave a Reply

