Where There’s Smoke – There’s Fire

… but the smoke may not be exactly where the fire is.

I went to a bonfire at a friend’s house last night and my daughter and I came dragging in at around 1 in the morning.  Considering that I am more of a morning person than a night person that is pretty amazing.  Anyway, because of said morning tendencies, I just went straight to bed when I got home.  Around 3 am, I woke up and there was a very pungent odor of smoke.  I hazily thought that I smelled pretty smokey and maybe I should get up and shower.  I was quite torn.  I was too tired to get up, but the smell was so strong I could hardly stand to breathe.

About 10 minutes went by, and suddenly there was a bright light coming in my window!  I looked outside, and there was a firetruck shining a spotlight into our back yard.  AND the yard was filled with a copious amount of smoke!  (I guess I wasn’t the source of the stench after all.) We do have a fire pit and the spotlight was focused onto it – but we hadn’t had a fire in weeks. That was obviously not the source of the smoke.  After about a minute, the firetruck left.

I was confused, and almost called the fire department.  In my early morning haziness, I thought that to call the fire department in the middle of the night to tell them that we did NOT have a fire seemed, well, rather odd.  I wandered around the house for a couple of hours and finally went to sleep.

We called in the morning; apparently someone in the neighborhood had a bonfire (must have been a good night for fires…), had gone to bed, and the bonfire started a grass fire . That explains the voluminous amount of smoke.  The fire department came, found the grass fire, and just stamped it out.  I’m still not sure why they were inspecting our yard though – maybe they were still looking for the source of smoke at that point.

Our Fire Pit area, desperately in need of a clipping.

Weedy, Unused Firepit

Weedy, Unused Fire Pit

Our quite fancy fire observation location, also undisturbed.

Fire Observation Location

Fire Observation Location

This was part of the yard that we had not mowed in a couple of weeks. We did mow this morning, but we carefully avoided things like this:

Half Wild Columbine

Half Wild Columbine

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

One response to “Where There’s Smoke – There’s Fire

  • mallory

    Oh, my! That is interesting. I remember once that I had a student who told me that she had a dream that her house was on fire, and, she told me, that when she woke up, it was! All was well. No one was hurt, but it was interesting.

Leave a Reply

