A Visit to Lake Erie

I have lived in Northeast Ohio my whole life and I had never explored this wonderful resource that we have – Lake Erie.  I took a class recently at Grand River Beads to learn how to drill glass, and we used Lake Erie beach glass.  The glass is beautifully etched by the waves and washes up onto the beaches.  Well, I decided that I had to go collect some of that glass myself.

We decided to go to the Headlands Beach State Park and it was great fun finding the glass.  Most of the pieces were small, but we did find some nice pendant size ones.  Just being at the beach was a new experience, with a nice cool breeze and moderate waves.  I know that people swim there, but the water was still too cold.

Headlands Beach State Park, Ohio, Lake Erie

Headlands Beach State Park, Ohio, Lake Erie

There were birds there that I don’t see in my backyard.

Lake Erie Beach Bird

Lake Erie Beach Bird

My kids were surprised at the vastness of the lake itself.  Although only the 4th in size of the Great Lakes, Lake Erie is the 10th largest lake in the world.  It is 9940 square miles – which is larger than any one of these states: Vermont, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Connecticut, Delaware, or Rhode Island.

We were there early in the day, there weren’t too many people there.  We had “hard time” finding our car. [/sarcasm]

My Lonely Car

My Lonely Car

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

3 responses to “A Visit to Lake Erie

  • Sharon

    What a beautiful setting, I love Ohio! Used to live in Wooster, OH, what a wonderful place. I’d love to see the photos of the glass you found!

  • rosemarie h.

    Oh Sharon! I think that Ohio is sort of a hidden treasure. There is so much here to experience and people just don’t know about it.

    I think that I will get some photos of the glass posted here, that’s a great idea.

  • Sharon

    I couldn’t agree with you more Rosemarie! Ohio is just so beautiful and I loved living there and traveling around the state. I’ve never seen such beautiful shades of green in my life. One day I hope to return for good!

    I would love to see photos of the glass you collected!

Leave a Reply

