Trackback? What the Heck is THAT?

I didn’t know that I didn’t know about trackbacks!  I just thought linking to another blog was a trackback but it is not.

First, let’s start with linkbacks – something that notifies another blog author that you have linked to one of their posts. There are 3 types of linkbacks: refback, trackback, and pingback. If you want really detailed information, the Wikipedia article on Linkbacks has some to peruse, but here is a quick summary.

  • refback – a visitor clicks on a link in my blog and goes to the other blog
  • trackback – code on my blog’s website sends a notification to the website of the other blog
  • pingback – similar to a trackback, but the internal code is different

My blog is on WordPress, so if I link to another WordPress blog, the pingback happens automatically.  If I want to do a trackback to a blog on another service, there is a field on the publishing page that I can fill out with the URL of the post on the other blog.  The notification gets sent at the time that I publish the article.

For an example (and a test, since I’ve not done this before), I will reference a blog post in my friend Mallory’s blog, For the love of beads.  The post is an uplifting post about the Winter Solstice called I have Waited for This Day.  It has a great snow picture too – check it out.  So,  all I have done so far is to link to her post.  If you click on it, you will visit her site – that is a refback.  Now (again, for WordPress) I can put the link to her post in the Send Trackbacks field on my blog post publishing page.  That should put a comment on that blogpost that I have linked to it.  I think.  I will update this post to let you know if this is correct!

Update 1:
It did work! There is now a “Links to this Post” section at the bottom of that post showing this post! Woo hoo!

Update 2:
I checked on Blogger and I found an article that states that it does not support trackbacks, but does support backlinks (which is not even in my list, argh!). The Blogger blogger (hee hee) has to have that set to show the links on the post, which Mallory apparently does. I don’t know how someone using Blogger can force a trackback to someone on another blogging service, or if it just happens automatically.

And here is a gratuitous picture of beads, because I hate to have a post without eye candy.

Warm Fire Glass Lampwork Beads

Warm Fire Glass Lampwork Beads

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

3 responses to “Trackback? What the Heck is THAT?

  • Elaine (ChatElaine)

    Well I am completely confused about all of them, I am in blogger and I dont get what I have to do on my service, so I have to admit to not trying it. I do get rather lazy about things like this. Lovely beads can I ask what colours you have used for the orange and red glass?

  • more information on amazon prime

    Great goods from you, man. I’ve take into account your stuff previous to and you are simply too
    wonderful. I really like what you’ve received right here, certainly like what you’re
    stating and the way in which you say it. You’re making it entertaining and you continue to
    take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you.
    This is really a tremendous site.

Leave a Reply

