Walking the Dog – Chapter 6 – Heading Home

We finished our trek around Hinckley Lake, hopped into the car, and headed home.  On the way, we encountered what is really, as I have mentioned in the past,  a common occurrence here – deer crossing the road.  When driving in this area, I really have to be alert and watch out for them.  They seem to stand at the side of the road until I approach, and then dart in front of my vehicle at the last possible moment. I have had many, many (far too many) close calls.

Deer Crossing in Richfield, Ohio

Deer Crossing in Richfield, Ohio

This group wasn’t quite so bold.  They meandered into the road early, waited patiently until the straggler caught up, and then proceeded to the other side of the road.  The deer third from the right seems to be looking back urging number four to catch up.

The car approaching in the other direction was stopped too, so don’t worry about the safety of the deer.  It just now occurred to me that I shot a photo of the proverbial “deer in headlights”, and well, they don’t look very afraid.

Gratuitous Sunset in Richfield Ohio

Gratuitous Sunset in Richfield Ohio

When I am not dodging deer, I make beads. Check them out at Etsy or my Spawn of Flame website.

About rosemarie h.

engineer by day - artist by night View all posts by rosemarie h.

Leave a comment